Downtown Festivals & Events

During the 2019 Canada Winter Games, downtown Red Deer will be home to lots of free festivals and cultural events for everyone to enjoy. Experience some of Canada's best arts and entertainment, as well as lots of winter-themed fun for people of all ages!

Starting February 15, The City and the Canada Winter Games are bringing festive fun for everyone to enjoy in the heart of Red Deer’s downtown. 

The 52 Degree North Music + Cultural Festival is a 10 day festival happening at the Gary W. Harris Celebration Plaza (5205 48 Avenue). This free, non-ticketed outdoor festival includes more than 80 performing acts, an Artisan Avenue shopping market, food trucks, crokicurl, snow maze, ice slide and lots more.

The Artisan Avenue will feature an array of locally-produced, handcrafted items such as ceramics, glass, jewelry, photography and so much more. 

Hours of Operation

Week 1
Saturday, February 16  4 - 8 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 4 - 8 p.m.
Monday, February 18 2 - 8 p.m.
Thursday, February 21 4 - 8 p.m.
Friday, February 22 4 - 8 p.m.
Week 2
Saturday, February 23 2 - 8 p.m.
Sunday, February 24 4 - 8 p.m.
Wednesday, February 27 4 - 8 p.m.
Thursday, February 28 4 - 8 p.m.
Friday, March 1 4 - 8 p.m.

Explore downtown, and you'll find art installations, roving entertainment, woodcarving workshops, a downtown shopping contest, and other family-friendly activities every day of the Games.

List of downtown events and map coming soon.

Getting around during the Games