Heritage Recognition Awards

Established in 2002 by the Heritage Preservation Committee (an Advisory Committee to Council), the Red Deer Heritage Recognition Awards recognize outstanding efforts in heritage preservation, education, and awareness in the City of Red Deer and Red Deer County.
Designed graphic encouraging submissions for the 2018 Heritage Recognition Awards

2018 Heritage Recognition Awards

Friday, November 2, 2018
11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Festival Hall, 4214 - 58 Street

Free to attend and open to the public. Refreshments are provided following the awards ceremony.

Award Categories

Every two years the City of Red Deer presents awards to individuals, groups, businesses or projects that demonstrate excellence in one or more of the following four categories:

Category 1: Built and natural heritage conservation, protection and preservation
This includes the restoration and protection of historic buildings and the development of new buildings to sensitively fit into an existing heritage area. It also includes the preservation or restoration of significant natural spaces or features.

Category 2: Heritage advocacy, education and awareness
This award recognizes work in heritage research, publications, programs, tours, interpretive projects, exhibits or displays.

Category 3: Youth advocacy, awareness and support for heritage
This award recognizes youth under the age of 21, students and youth groups who have raised the awareness of, participated in, or supported heritage projects, exhibits, displays, publications or tours.

Category 4: Lifetime achievement award
This award is for individuals who, in a volunteer capacity, have made significant contributions to heritage over a period of time.


The 2018 nomination deadline has passed. For more information, please contact the Heritage Community Development Coordinator at 403-406-8817.